Vai al contenuto

Milan Line 2

The Green

Line 2 is important because it links all the major Milan railway stations: in its urban section, the line serves the railway stations of Lambrate FS, Centrale FS, Garibaldi FS, Cadorna FNM and Porta Genova FS, all handling large numbers of commuters. Line 2 also extends into different municipalities in the Milan suburbia, from Abbiategrasso to Cologno, Gessate and now to Assago, passing through the important junction of Cadorna. The construction of Line 2 sees several tunnels built at different levels (the S. Agostino station has three levels), as well as raised stations, stations on viaducts and at ground level along the section between Cascina Gobba and Cologno Monzese. Opened in 1969, the Line 2 currently extends for 40.4 km and has 35 stations.

Section km (miles) Stations
Abbiategrasso/Assago Milanofiori Forum to Gessate/Cologno Nord 40,4 (25) 35

The design phase

In December 2012 has been delivered to the City of Milan (project supervisor: Province of Milan), the Final Design of the extension to the north-east, from north to Cologno Vimercate, with five stations: Brugherio, Carugate, Agrate Brianza-Colleoni, Concorezzo and Vimercate.

Status km (miles) Stations Section
Active 40,4 (25) 35 Abbiategrasso/Assago Milanofiori Forum to Gessate/Cologno Nord
Planned 9,7 (6.1) 5 Cologno Nord - Vimercate


Inauguration of the first section of the Line 2, Cascina Gobba - Caiazzo with a total of eight stations, three of which are at ground level (Cimiano, Crescencego and Cascina Gobba).
1970 Opening to the public of the Line 2 station Centrale FS, the new terminus.

Inauguration of two new metro stations, Gioia and Garibaldi FS

Opening of eight new stations in the north-eastern hinterland, the first outside the City: Vimodrone, Cascina Burrona, Cernusco sul Naviglio, Villa Fiorita, Cascina de’ Pecchi, Bussero, Villa Pompea and Gorgonzola, the new terminus.

Three new stations opened: Moscova, Lanza and Cadorna FNM which becomes the new terminus.

Inauguration of a new branch line, with three stations at Cologno Monzese (South, Centre and North).

Three new stations opened: Romolo, Cascina Antonietta and Gessate, the latter two at ground level, as is the whole of the north-east branch line.

Famagosta station opened, the new terminus.

Inauguration of the light automatic metro (people mover) from the Line 2 station of Cascina Gobba to the San Raffaele station, located close to the entrance of the San Raffaele hospital.

Inauguration of the Famagosta depot.

Opening of the Piazza Abbiategrasso station, which becomes the new southern terminus of Line 2.
2011 On february 20, 2011 inauguration of Line 2 extension from Famagosta to Assago Milanofiori Forum. Opening to the public of Assago Milanofiori Nord station and Assago Milanofiori Forum station.