Vai al contenuto

A historical background

The history of MM is closely associated with the construction of a key component of the Milan infrastructure: its metro system
Milan was the first public authority in Italy to set up a company dedicated solely to the design and supervision of the public underground transportation system. And years later, MM is now a leading supplier for public transport services.

This is why, after the successful completion of the Milan Metro project, the design and construction of the Passante Ferroviario, or the Underground Urban Rail Link, one of the largest and most complex underground projects, was assigned to MM. The new 9.6-km (6-mile) long line connects directly the south-east and north-west Lombardy railway networks with the Milan’s rail network and the rest of the province.

Over the years, the Company has diversified into highway engineering, interchange car-parking areas and architectural, urban planning and environmental projects.

AndStep by step…

11 July 1955 The municipal council approves the constitution of a joint-stock company for the “construction and operation” of the metro system. The complexity of the project, from both the technical and financial standpoints, requires the creation of a suitably qualified organization.

6 Oct. 1955
By public deed, Metropolitana Milanese Spa is set up. The first Chairman is Mr Ercole Bottani, an engineer.

12 Oct. 1955
By council resolution, the Milan Municipality grants the new company a 30-year concession for the construction and operation of metro lines.

To attract the necessary funds and finance the construction of the Line 1, MM issues a 20-year debenture loan. The citizens of Milan subscribe to it enthusiastically.

4 May 1957
Excavation for Line 1 begins at the Viale Monte Rosa site.
1 Nov. 1964 Line 1 (the Red Line) starts operation with 12.5 km (7.8 miles) and 21 stations from Piazzale Lotto to Sesto Marelli on the northern edge of the City. Piero Bucalossi, the Milan Mayor, opens the Line 1 with the following words: “Today a long-held aspiration of the citizens of Milan is fulfilled, one which is in keeping with the spirit of a city ready to accept all progressive initiatives (…) Some have said that the self-funding, whose heavy burden has been accepted by the citizens of Milan, was a sin of pride (…) but this is no sin of pride: it is rather the conscious desire to independently resolve a problem which would otherwise still be a dream or a plan”.

The main stations

Line 1: Sesto Marelli – Lotto section

Line 1: Pagano – Gambara section

4 Oct. 1969
Inauguration of the first section of Line Line 2 (the Green Line): Caiazzo - Cascina Gobba, with eight stations, of which three (Cimiano, Crescencego and Cascina Gobba) are at ground level

Line 2: Caiazzo - Centrale FS section

Line 2: Centrale – Garibaldi section

Line 2: Cascina Gobba - Gorgonzola section

Line 1: Gambara - Inganni and Lotto - QT8 sections

Line 2: Garibaldi – Cadorna section

Line 1: QT8 - San Leonardo section

Line 2: Cascina Gobba - Cologno Nord section

Line 2: Cadorna - Porta Genova section

Line 2: Porta Genova - Romolo and Gorgonzola – Gessate sections

Line 1: San Leonardo - Molino Dorino and Sesto Marelli - Sesto 1st May sections

3 May 1990
Inauguration of Line 3 (the Yellow Line): eight stations between Centrale FS and Duomo
16 Dec. 1990 Inauguration Duomo - Porta Romana section

Line 3: Sondrio - Centrale FS and Porta Romana - San Donato sections

Line 1: Inganni – Bisceglie section

Line 2: Romolo – Famagosta section

Line 3: Sondrio – Zara section
21 Dec. 1997 The Underground Urban Rail Link comes into service with the first five stops between Bovisa and Porta Venezia

The Underground Urban Rail Link: Milano Certosa - Lancetti section

The Underground Urban Rail Link: Villapizzone - Dateo section

Line 3: continues with the Zara - Maciachini section

7 Dec. 2003
Inauguration of the southern Light Rail Transit (LRT) system from Porta Lodovica to Piazza Abbiategrasso and the northern LRT system from Maciachini to Parco Nord

The Underground Urban Rail Link: Dateo - Porta Vittoria section

Line 2: Famagosta - Piazza Abbiategrasso section

Line 1: Molino Dorino - Rho Fiera section and Di Pero station

The Underground Urban Rail Link: Porta Vittoria - Rogoredo section

7 Dec. 2008
Inauguration of the Milan - Cinisello Balsamo LRT terminating at Piazzale Lagosta

April 2009
Opening of the Rho Fiera Milano station, within the new Fair Centre
February 2011 Inauguration of the extention of Milan Line 2. from Famagosta to Assago Milanofiori Forum. Four new stations: Assago Milanofiori Nord and Assago Milanofiori Forum.
March 2011 Inauguration of the extention of Milan Line 3. Four new stations: Dergano, Affori Centro, Affori FNM and Comasina, the new terminus.
February 2013 Inauguration of Milan Line 5. Seven new stations: Bignami, Ponale, Bicocca, Ca’ Granda, Istria, Marche and Zara.

A historical background (in italian only)